Her and Me Now Him and Her

Gloria- She is 15 years old, tall and very athletic, kind hearted but very boy obsessive

Gretta- She is 15 and Gloria is her best friend, she is very positive and always smiling, athletic and short

Ian- He is 16 years old, very athletic, in love with Gloria, mean to Gretta,very controlling and does drugs.

IAN

You shouldn’t be friends with her, she is just trying to break us up. You know that don’t you?

GLORIA

I don’t think she is trying to break us up. I (beat)….I think she just feels left out that’s all

IAN

Well in the end babe I am your boyfriend and—-

                                                                                 Gloria stops Ian in mid sentence.

GLORIA

But she is my best friend. You both are very important to me and I love you both the same.

IAN

Your just going to have to pick. Is it going to be Gretta or me Gloria?

GLORIA

You can’t just ask me to pick between my best friend and my boyfriend. That isn’t fair.

IAN

Would you rather have me or her Gloria?

                                                                                      Gloria pauses a moment to think about

                                                                                   the next thing she is going to say. Then

                                                                                  she continues on what she had to say.

GLORIA

(In a soft voice)you.

IAN

I’m glad.

GLORIA

I guess I will go find Gretta now and tell her what I have just decided.

IAN

Good idea babe. Call me after when you did it and let me know how it went, Love you.

GLORIA

Okay.

Gloria then goes to find Gretta at her

                                                                                           house playing basketball to tell her

                                                                         the decision she made.

GRETTA

Oh hey Gloria, didn’t see ya there what’s up?

GLORIA

So I made a decision…

GRETTA

Decision about what?

GLORIA

(Beat) I choose Ian.

GRETTA

What do you mean you choose Ian? Like choose him over me? Your best friend?

GLORIA

Yes. I’m sorry.

GRETTA

Are you kidding me right now? A boy over your best friend?! After everything we have been through? All the times I have been there for you, the times i’ve been your shoulder to cry on, the times I gave you advice, and now all of a sudden you just gonna choose him over me your best friend? Who is gonna be there for you when you guys break up? Whos gonna be your shoulder to cry on? Who are you going to go to for advice when things are rough between the both of you? Your gonna have no one because you keep pushing everyone out for a stupid boy, I mean it is highschool no one is thinking about marriage.

GLORIA

We aren’t going to break up.

GRETTA

How do you know that?

GLORIA

Because I love him and he loves me.

GRETTA

Right. But people change.

GLORIA

He won’t. You don’t understand what it is like to be so madly in love with someone.

GRETTA

That is where you’re wrong. Don’t you remember? I was in love with his best friend. We dated for six and a half months. I was so madly in love with him. He was the one person I wanted to be with all the time. I would ditch plans with my friends just to hang with him. I wouldn’t study for a test I had just to be with him. Then one day he changed. He broke up with me over text on our seven month anniversary. He lied to me. He cheated. And what do I get out of that whole relationship? A broken heart. I gave him my all, did everything I could to make sure he was happy, and loved him with everything I had. So Gloria do not tell me I don’t understand because I do. I dated his best friend and if Ian is anything like Jacob he will do the same thing Jacob did to me just with you. I could never let you go through what Jacob put me through. I always try and protect you at all costs and now you are just leaving me? How is that fair?

GLORIA

I love you both Gretta but I do not want to lose Ian. He isn’t like Jacob, just because they’re best friends does not mean they are the same.

GRETTA

So you would obviously rather lose me than your boyfriend Ian and how do you know that they aren’t the exact same? I mean we are best friends and we are practically the same.

GLORIA

It’s different with boys

GRETTA

Right.

GLORIA

Look I’m sorry I don’t want you to hate me.

GRETTA

That’s funny because even though your choosing a guy over me, I still love you as much as I did before you came over here and started having this conversation with me. If you ever need anything I am always here for you, I will have your back always, and I will be your shoulder to cry on whenever you need because that’s what best friends do.

GLORIA

Same goes for you.

GRETTA

I’ll see you around, I am sure your boyfriend is waiting to get a call from you.

GLORIA

How did yo-

                                                               Gretta stops Gloria mid question

GRETTA

I told you I am your best friend I know you better than anyone else. I always will.

Leave a comment

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Longreads

Longreads : The best longform stories on the web

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started